• facebook
  • Twitter
  • Linkedin
  • Instagram
  • WhatsApp

E-Codes - Halal & Haraam E - Numbers

E-CodeNameDescriptionStatus
E100Curcumin/TurmericColorPowder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid,
the solvents has to be Halal. Haraam if hidden
ingredient is pork fat based emulsifier in dry mix.
E101Riboflavin (Vitamin B2)ColorMushbooh (Haraam if from pork liver & Kidney,
Halal if 100% plant material)
E102TartrazineColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color,
the solvent has to be Halal
E104
E110Sunset Yellow FCF / Orange Yellow SColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color,
the solvent has to be Halal
E120Cochineal / Carminic AcidColorHaraam
E122Carmoisine / AzorubineColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E123AmaranthColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E124Ponceau 4R / Cochineal Red AColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E127Erythrosine BSColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E131Patent Blue VColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E132Indigo Carmine / IdigotineColorHalal if use as is as a 100% synthetic color but if pork
glycerin is added as a solvent then it is Haraam
E140ChlorophyllColorHalal if use 100% powder or
Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent
E141Copper Complex of ChlorophyllColorHalal if use 100% powder or
Halal if water or vegetable oil was used as a solvent
E142Green S / Acid Brilliant Green BSColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E150(a-d)Caramel Color/with chemicalsColorHalal
E151Black PN / Brilliant Black BNColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E153Carbon Black / Vegetable Carbon (Charcoal)ColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160aAlpha, Beta, GammaColor – CaroteneHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160bAnnatto, Bixin, NorbixinColor – CaroteneHalal
E160cCapsanthin / CapsorbinColor- CaroteneHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160dLycopeneColor – CaroteneHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E160eBeta-apo-8-carotenalColor – CaroteneHalal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or
Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form
as a hidden ingredient. Haraam if pork gelatin is used as
hidden ingredient or carrier
E160fEthyl ester of Beta-apo-8-cartonoic acidColor – CaroteneHalal if used as 100% dry powder or granular or
Halal if vegetable oil is used as a solvent in liquid form
as a hidden ingredient. Haraam if pork gelatin is used as
hidden ingredient or carrier
E161aFlavoxanthinColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161bLuteinColorHalal if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if pork gelatin or pork glycerin is added in dry or liquid form
E161cCryptoxanthinColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161dRubixanthinColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161eViolaxanthinColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161fRhodoxanthinColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E161gCanthaxanthinColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E162Beetroot Red / BetaninColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E163AnthocyaninsColorHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E170Calcium Carbonate (Chalk)Color – InorganicHalal if obtained from rock mineral and used as 100% dry
powder or granular. Mushbooh if used as liquid, solvent has to be Halal
E171Titanium DioxideColor – InorganicHalal
E172Iron Oxides and HydroxidesColor – InorganicHalal
E173AluminiumColor – InorganicHalal
E174SilverColor – InorganicHalal
E175GoldColor – InorganicHalal
E180Pigment Rubine / Lithol Rubine BKColor – InorganicHalal if used as 100% dry color.
Mushbooh if used as liquid color, the solvent has to be Halal
E200Sorbic AcidPreservativeHalal
E201Soduim SorbatePreservativeHalal
E202Potassium SorbatePreservativeHalal
E203Calcium SorbatePreservativeHalal
E210Benzoic AcidPreservativeHalal
E211Sodium BenzoatePreservativeHalal
E212Potassium BenzoatePreservativeHalal
E213Calcium BenzoatePreservativeHalal, if calcium obtained from mineral,
Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones
E214Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoatePreservativeHalal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E215Ethyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium SaltPreservativeHalal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E216Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoatePreservativeHalal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E217Propyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium SaltPreservativeHalal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E218Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoatePreservativeHalal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E219Methyl 4-hydroxybenzoate, Sodium SaltPreservativeHalal, if used as 100% dry powder or granular.
Haraam if alcohol is used as a solvent
E220Sulphur DioxidePreservativeHalal
E221Sodium SulphitePreservativeHalal
E222Sodium Hydrogen SulphitePreservativeHalal
E223Sodium MetabisulphitePreservativeHalal
E224Potassium MetabisulphitePreservativeHalal
E226Calcium SulphitePreservativeHalal
E227Calcium Hydrogen SulphitePreservativeHalal, if calcium is obtained from mineral or chemicals.
Mushbooh if it is obtained from bones.
E230Biphenyl / DiphenylPreservativeHalal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E2312-HydroxybiphenylPreservativeHalal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E232Sodium Biphenyl-2-yl OxidePreservativeHalal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E2332-(Thiazol-4-yl) BenzimidazolePreservativeHalal, if no alcohol is used as a solvent
E239HexaminePreservative – otherHalal
E249Potassium NitratePreservativeHalal
E250Sodium NitritePreservativeHalal
E251Sodium NitratePreservativeHalal
E252Potassium Nitrate(Saltpetre)PreservativeHalal
E260Acetic AcidMiscellaneous – AcidsHalal
E261Potassium AcetateMiscellaneous – AcidsHalal
E262Potassium Hydrogen DiacetateMiscellaneous – AcidsHalal
E263Calcium AcetateMiscellaneous – AcidsHalal
E270Lactic AcidMiscellaneous – AcidsHalal if obtained other than whey.
In USA it is always from non dairy source.
E280Propionic AcidPreservative – AcidsHalal
E281Sodium PropionatePreservative- AcidsHalal
E282Calcium PropionatePreservative- AcidsHalal if calcium obtained from mineral,
Mushbooh if it obtained from bones
E283Potassium PropionatePreservative- AcidsHalal
E290Carbon DioxideMiscellaneousHalal
E300L-Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C)Antioxidants- Vitamin CHalal
E301Sodium-L-AscorbateAntioxidants- Vitamin C and derivativesHalal
E302Calcium-L-AscorbateAntioxidants- Vitamin C and derivativesHalal, if the calcium source is from mineral,
Mushbooh if it is from bones
E304Ascorbyl PalmitateAntioxidants- Vitamin C and derivativesHalal if saturated fatty acid Palmitic acid is obtained from plant.
Haraam if palmitic acid is obtained from pork fat
E306Natural Extracts rich in TocopherolsAntioxidants- Vitamin EHalal If Tocopherol is obtained from plant fat.
Haraam if Tocopherol is obtained from pork fat
E307Synthetic Alpha-TocopherolAntioxidants- Vitamin EHalal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic
material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method
E308Synthetic Gamma-TocopherolAntioxidants- Vitamin EHalal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic
material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method
E309Synthetic Delta-TocopherolAntioxidants- Vitamin EHalal only if it is made with all Halal synthetic
material without alcoholic fermentation synthetic method
E310Propyl GallateAntioxidants- otherHalal
E311Octyl GallateAntioxidants- otherHalal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion
E312Dodecyl GallateAntioxidants- otherHalal if obtained from nutgalls or plant secretion.
Haraam if alcohol was used as solvent
E320Butylated Hydroxyanisole (BHA)Antioxidants- otherHalal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier.
Haraam if the carrier is from pork fat.
It is not available as pure 100% chemical.
E321Butylated Hydroxytoluene (BHT)Antioxidants- otherHalal if only vegetable oil is used as a carrier.
Haraam if the carrier is from pork fat.
It is not available as pure 100% chemical.
E322LecithinEmulsifiers and StabilizersHalal if obtained from soy fat or egg yolk in Europe.
It is Halal in USA because it is always obtained from soy fat.
E325Sodium LactateMiscellaneous – Salts of Lactic AcidHalal if the lactic acid from non dairy source
E326Potassium LactateMiscellaneous – Salts of Lactic AcidHalalif the lactic acid from non dairy source
E327Calcium LactateMiscellaneous – Salts of Lactic AcidHalalif the lactic acid from non dairy source and calcium from mineral
E330Citric AcidMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal
E331Sodium CitratesMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal
E332Potassium CitratesMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal
E333Calcium CitratesMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal if calcium source is not from bones
E334Tartaric AcidMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product,
in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E335Sodium TartratesMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product,
in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E336Potassium Tartrates (Cream of Tartar)Miscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product,
in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E337Potassium Sodium TartratesMiscellaneous – Citric Acid and its SaltsHalal, if it is not obtained from wine by-product,
in USA it is Halal because it is obtained from un-fermented grapes.
E338Orthophosphoric AcidMiscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its SailtsHalal
E339Sodium PhosphatesMiscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its SailtsHalal
E340Potassium PhosphatesMiscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its SailtsHalal
E341Calcium PhosphatesMiscellaneous – Phosphoric Acid and its SailtsHalal if calcium from mineral source
E400Alginic AcidEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – AlginatesHalal
E401Sodium AlginateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – AlginatesHalal
E402Potassium AlginateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – AlginatesHalal
E403Ammonium AlginateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – AlginatesHalal
E404Calcium AlginateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – AlginatesHalal if calcium source is from mineral
E405Propane-1,2-Diol AlginateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – AlginatesHalal
E406AgarEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E407CarrageenanEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E410Locust Bean Gum (Carob Gum)Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E412Guar GumEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E413TragacanthEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E414Gum Acacia (Gum Arabic)Emulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E415Xanthan GumEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – other plant gumsHalal
E420SorbitolSugar AlcoholsHalal
E421MannitolSugar AlcoholsHalal
E422GlycerolSugar AlcoholsMushbooh, called Glycerin in USA,
Halal if it is from plant fat, Haraam if it is from pork fat
E440aPectinEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Pectin and derivativesHalal
E440bAmidated PectinEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Pectin and derivativesHalal
E450a,b,cSodium and Potassium Phosphates and PolyphosphatesMiscellaneousHalal
E460Microcrystalline / Powdered CelluloseEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Cellulose and derivativesHalal
E461MethylcelluloseEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Cellulose and derivativesHalal
E463HydroxypropylcelluloseEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Cellulose and derivativesHalal
E464Hydroxypropyl-MethylcelluloseEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Cellulose and derivativesHalal
E465EthylmethylcelluloseEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Cellulose and derivativesHalal
E466Carboxymethylcellulose, Sodium SaltEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – Cellulose and derivativesHalal
E470Sodium, Potassium and Calcium Salts of Fatty AcidsEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E471Mono-and Diglycerides of Fatty AcidsEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E472Various Esters of Mono-and DiglyceridesEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E473Sucrose Esters of Fatty AcidsEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E474SucroglyceridesEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E475Polyglycerol Esters of Fatty AcidsEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E477Propane-1,2-Diol Esters of Fatty AcidsEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E481Sodium Stearoyl-2-LactylateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E482Calcium Stearoyl-2-LactylateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat
E483Stearyl TartrateEmulsifiers and Stabilizers – salts or Esters of Fatty AcidsMushbooh, Halal if it is from plant fat,
Haraam if it is from pork fat

WhatsApp chat