Additives & Ingredients

It is “Haram”. Products and foods, whose base of preparation contains alcohol as a solvent, are prohibited. There are alcohols that are allowed (Halal), by the Islamic jurisprudence. They are from oil, such as, for example, the propylene glycol.

As it is obtained from the stomach of calves and oxen, it can be considered “Halal” (since animals have been slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic jurisprudence). If not, it is considered “Haram”. Currently, there are more reliable alternatives, such as microbial rennet, which is 100% Halal.

It is extracted from the dry parts of the body of the female insect Dactilipius Coccus, who lives in Mexico and is grown in South America. According to Hanafi Muzhab, this product has been decreed “Haram”.

The gelatin is a collagen extracted from the animal’s skin and bones. Most of gelatins found in Brazilian supermarkets have a swine origin, so, they are “Haram”. Brazilian jurisdiction does not obligate the gelatin producers to justify its origin in the packages or in its labels; so, you should seek for information about the origin of the gelatin you eat: if it has swine origin, it is “Haram”. Fish gelatin and vegetal gelatin are considered “Halal”.

It is an amino acid (Cysteine), an ingredient widely used in bakery products and scents. It is extracted from one hair, plumes of birds and synthetics. It is “Halal” if it has been obtained from materials such as oil, which is synthetic, or plumes of birds like chickens and ducks, since they have been slaughtered according with the Islamic Jurisprudence. It is “Haram” if derived from human hair.

They can be considered “Halal” if they have been obtained 100% of plants or animals slaughtered according to the Islamic jurisprudence. It is “Haram” if it has a swine origin or if it comes from animals not slaughtered in accordance with the Islamic jurisprudence.

It is an enzyme extracted from the liver, pancreas and stomach of swine and other animals (so, it is “Haram”). It is also possible to extract it from vegetables (on this case, it is “Halal”).

It is a digestive enzyme extracted from the stomach of the swine, so, it is “Haram”.